Birthday vacation

Daily writing prompt
Describe your most memorable vacation.

I’ve had a lot of memorable vacations. In my senior year of high school, I took three trips in two weeks, and I was exhausted by the end. They were all for separate reasons, and they somehow ended up all being around the same time without over-lapping.

I first went to Chicago with my A’cappella group. We rode a bus all night, and because it’s impossible for me to sleep on anything but a bed or couch, I was so tired! Which was not great because we had things to do the moment we stepped off the bus. The day after we got back from that, I went on a mission trip with the Presbyterian Church to Mexico. Still tired from Chicago, I didn’t really want to go, and I also hate planes. They terrify me, and news about plane crashes don’t help. So I cried the entire way there. That trip was very beautiful and eye-opening, though. Then when we got back from that, my family took a trip to Myrtle Beach. That was definitely the most relaxing one.

My most memorable vacation, however, was my tenth birthday. For my and my twin sister’s tenth birthday, our mom took us to Disney World. She had been hinting at it for a long time, and it was going to be our first trip there. We were so excited. It was myself, my sister, my older brother and my mom. And it was as amazing as I had hoped.

We stayed at the Rockstar Hotel, which had two giant pools – one shaped like piano and the other shaped like a guitar. Our room was all the way in the back so we had to walk a very long way to get to the entrance, but that didn’t matter to me. We went to all of the parks, and went on as many rides as possible. It was so amazing and so fun and so magical. I couldn’t wish for a better birthday.

We went to I think Animal Kingdom on the day of our actual birthday, and everyone on the bus sang “Happy Birthday” to us. I remember calling dad and crying because we missed him, but we were just having so much fun. My brother, who was fourteen at the time, was allowed to go off on his own. He went to get us birthday presents, though, and he was a big kid. No one would ever try something with my brother. He knew how to handle himself.

I still tear up thinking about that trip. Those were special memories that I hope I will never forget. We’ve gone back to Disney World a couple of times, and I still feel a bit of that magic from when we were ten. It was the greatest birthday and the greatest trip I ever had.

This entry was posted in Journal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday vacation

  1. LenoreDallas says:

    Awww I bet that was amazing! I still dream of getting to Disney one day…

    Like

Leave a comment